Elon Musk, the founder of X (previously known as Twitter), stated that the social media platform’s “block” option would be deleted for its users since it “makes no sense.”
Elon Musk, the founder of X (previously known as Twitter), has declared that the platform’s blocking feature will be removed, citing that it “makes no sense.” Users will, however, be able to prevent others from directly messaging them.
This is just one of many adjustments made by Musk since acquiring the site in a $44 billion transaction last year. Currently, when a user blocks an account, the postings from that account are not seen in the blocker’s timeline, and vice versa. Furthermore, the banned account loses the ability to communicate with the blocker and view their posts.
Interestingly, former Twitter creator Jack Dorsey seemed to agree with Musk’s approach, tweeting “100%. Mute only.” However, some people are concerned that muting an account may not give adequate protection against harassment, abuse, or stalking. Currently, the mute function just silences notifications about an account’s posts, but the muted account can still view and respond to the muter’s posts.
One user called Musk’s decision a “huge mistake,” citing the prevalence of “toxic people” on the network with whom users do not want to contact in any way. Furthermore, removing the blocking tool may contradict the terms and conditions of app retailers such as Apple’s App Store and Google Play, which require social media programs to have mechanisms to filter abuse or bullying. In this case, X may no longer be available for download on these platforms.
Since taking over the social networking site, Elon Musk, the world’s richest man, has implemented a number of modifications. This involves the firing of the company’s top executives and the implementation of a fee for the site’s “blue tick”- or verification feature.